Month of Madness

It is fairly safe to say I have a lot to look forward to during the next four weeks. First, I have two weeks off of school for Spring/Easter holidays. This week in school could also count as part of the break too, due to the majority of the class and all of my friends being in Italy for a weeklong exchange. So we poor students left over have nothing else to do but watch films. But I can get over the fact that I’m not lying on a beach on the Mediterranean because in the second week of break I will be flying with Zoe to the UK, and meeting up with the one and only Mary Kelly Spross! My hardest decision right now would probably have to be choosing between being more excited to go to London or to see my old ma. I think the combination will make for an extraordinary week. We will spend a few days in London, taking in my favorite city and checking out a few possible universities for me, because no possibility should be out of the question! Then we’ll head up for Edinburgh for a night, and finish the trip out again in London. The best part is that this would never have been possible if I wasn’t already on this continent for the year; that’s fate, my friends.

The following week, right after I arrive back in Deutschland, I am set up to do a career study/apprenticeship at the global lens and optics company Carl Zeiss. I am incredibly grateful to receive this opportunity, since I have a spot in the international business/affairs office, it will be a great experience to take with me later in life. Every student in the state of Baden-Württemberg has to take part of this ‘BOGY’ week and apply to a company of his or her interest, and the father of a friend of mine who works there helped me find a spot.

To top it all off, the Sunday after my ‘BOGY’, I will leave with my French class on a train bound to Nîmes, France for a weeklong student exchange. It is only a slight problem that since I’ve been in Germany my German has gotten really good, not my French. If anything, my French has gone terribly downhill. I can promise that it will be humorous, because I am probably more comfortable speaking German at the moment than I am speaking both French and English, and I do not know how many foreign languages my host family will be able to understand, but somehow I believe we will work it all out. Nothing is too out of the question for me anymore. They just might be slightly confused when an American comes into their home trying to speak German. It is guaranteed to be a memorable time, especially considering there’s only very few who get lucky enough to be a double-exchange student/exchange student on exchange/ whatever it would be called.

So, things are turning out pretty well. Das Leben ist schön.

Leave a comment